View Single Post
Old 05-05-2014, 08:15 PM   #126
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Inactive
Posts: 36,483
Likes: 237 (190 Posts)
Arrow 5 Points

Originally Posted by decim View Post
Loook a' me... aam dead sexy....aam the massiah...och..The Massaged One...

The upside-down facing pentagram, meanwhile, represents the physical world ruling over the spiritual, and has therefore been associated with Dark Magic...Austin Powers - The Best of Fat Bastard - YouTube

Medal of Honor is the United States of America's highest military honour, awarded for personal acts of valor above and beyond the call of duty. The medal is awarded by the President of the United States in the name of Congress to US military personnel only. There are 3 versions of the medal, one for the Army, one for the Navy, and one for the Air Force... Personnel of the Marine Corps and Coast Guard receive the Navy version..The Navy version is described as "a 5-pointed bronze star, tipped with trefoils containing a crown of laurel and oak. In the center is Minerva, personifying the United States, standing with left hand resting on fasces and right hand holding a shield blazoned with the shield from the coat of arms of the United States. She repulses Discord, represented by snakes. The medal is suspended from the flukes of an anchor."It is made of solid red brass, oxidized and buffed..During the Civil War, Secretary of War Edwin M. Stanton promised a Medal of Honor to every man in the 27th Maine Volunteer Infantry Regiment who extended his enlistment beyond the agreed-upon date. The Battle of Gettysburg was imminent, and 311 men of the regiment volunteered to serve until the battle was resolved...

1782: Badge of Military Merit: The first formal system for rewarding acts of individual gallantry by American soldiers was established by George Washington when he issued a field order on August 7, 1782, for a Badge of Military Merit to recognize those members of the Continental Army who performed "any singular meritorious action". This decoration is America's first combat decoration and was preceded only by the Fidelity Medallion, the Congressional medal for Henry Lee awarded in September 1779 in recognition of his attack on the British at Paulus Hook, the Congressional medal for General Horatio Gates awarded in November 1777 in recognition of his victory over the British at Saratoga, and the Congressional medal for George Washington awarded in March 1776..In 1916, a board of 5 Army generals on the retired list convened under act of law to review every Army Medal of Honor awarded. The board was to report on any Medals of Honor awarded or issued for any cause other than distinguished service. The commission, led by Nelson A. Miles, identified 911 awards for causes other than distinguished service...Chaplain's Medal for Heroism: awarded posthumously for a single action to 4 recipients..1923: Congress enacted a statute (the year before the 20-year term of the patent would expire) — which would later be codified at 18 U.S.C. § 704 — prohibiting the unauthorized wearing, manufacturing, or sale of military medals or decorations..Charles Lindbergh, 1927, civilian pilot, and U.S. Army Air Corps reserve officer.. In 1994, Congress amended the statute to permit an enhanced penalty if the offense involved the Medal of Honor..

The Tiffany Cross itself was not popular. In 1942, the Navy returned to using only the original 1862 inverted 5-point star design, and ceased issuing the award for non-combat action..On October 23, 2002, Pub.L. 107–248 was enacted, modifying 36 U.S.C. § 903, authorizing a Medal of Honor flag to be presented to recipients of the decoration..There are 2 distinct protocols for awarding the Medal of Honor.. The first and most common is nomination and approval through the chain of command of the service member. The second method is nomination by a member of the U.S. Congress, generally at the request of a constituent, and the subsequent approval via a special Act of Congress..A total of 19 men have been awarded the Medal of Honor twice, 14 of these received two separate medals for two separate actions, while 5 received both the Navy and Army Medals of Honor for the same action..As of June 2011, since the beginning of World War II, 851 Medals of Honor have been awarded, 523 (61.45%) posthumously..In 2005, President George W. Bush presented the Medal of Honour to Tibor Rubin, a Hungarian-born American Jew who was a Holocaust survivor of World War II and enlisted U.S. Infantryman and prisoner of war (POW) of the Korean War whom many believed to have been overlooked because of his religion..20 of these medals went to American soldiers of Japanese descent of the 442nd Regimental Combat Team (442nd RCT) that served in the European Theater of Operations during World War II..Since the Medal of Honor has been awarded 621 (17.90%) have been awarded posthumously..Foreign unknown recipients include the British Unknown Warrior, the French Unknown Soldier, the Romanian Unknown Soldier, the Italian Unknown Soldier, and the Belgian Unknown Soldier..The Texas Medal of Honor Memorial is a statue commemorating recipients of the Medal of Honor from the state of Texas.. bio details as follows: war hero, recently killed, Malabar front. Today awarded posthumous secondary order of conspicuous merit 2nd class...In accordance to the principles of Doublethink, it does not matter if the war is not real, or when it is, that victory is not possible. The war is not meant to be won. It is meant to be continuous. The essential act of modern warfare is the destruction of the produce of human labour.. A hierarchical society is only possible on the basis of poverty and ignorance. In principle, the war effort is always planned to keep society on the brink of starvation.. The war is waged by the ruling group against its own subjects. And its object is not victory over Eurasia or Eastasia, but to keep the very structure of society intact...

Last edited by lightgiver; 05-05-2014 at 08:16 PM.
lightgiver is offline   Reply With Quote