View Single Post
Old 05-05-2012, 07:47 PM   #287
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Inactive
Posts: 36,483
Likes: 237 (190 Posts)
Arrow Wheel of Pain

Get Mr. Universe-like results in just 12 years of pushing The Wheel Of Pain. Consult your local Sumerian slave trader for further information.

The Bhavacakra (Sanskrit; Devanagari: Pali: bhavacakka) or Wheel of Becoming (Tibetan srid pa'i 'khor lo) is a complex symbolic representation of samsara in the form of a circle (Sanskrit: mandala; Tibetan: 'khor.lo), used primarily in Tibetan Buddhism.Sa?sara is the continuous cycle of birth, life, and death from which one liberates oneself through enlightenment.Legend has it that the Buddha himself created the first depiction of the bhavacakra, and the story of how he gave the illustration to King Rudraya?a appears in the anthology of Buddhist narratives called the Divyavadana.In the Buddhist depiction, different karmic actions contribute to one's metaphorical existence in different realms, or rather, different actions contribute to one's characteristics similarity to those of the realms. Leading from the human realm to the outside of the wheel depicts the Buddhist path. The Bhavacakra is sometimes displayed with five sections, but the more recent and more common form has six sections.

2) Outer rim

The outer rim of the wheel is divided into twelve sections and given such names as the Twelve Interdependent Causes and Effects or the Twelve Links of Causality.Ignorance is the first of the 12 causes and conditions, both of our rebirth and of maturing any karma within our dependent existence. Different causes can overlap in different stages and even mature in next existences - lives. Yet the turning of the wheel goes onward.The twelve causal links are: (1) ignorance; (2) volitional action or conditioning; (3) consciousness; (4) name and form;(5) six sensory organs (i.e. eye, ear, nose, tongue, body, and mind); (6) contact or touch; (7) sensation; (8) desire, craving, thirst;(9) grasping; (10) becoming or existence; (11) birth; (12) decay and death.

3) Six Worlds

The wheel is divided into six sections which represent the Six realms (or Worlds) of Existence. These Six Worlds are:

The World of Devas or Gods
The World of Asuras (Tibetan: lha ma yin; Sanskrit: asura) (Demigods, Titans, Fighting Demons)
The World of Humans
The World of Animals
The World of Pretas (hungry ghosts)
The World of Hell

The World of Devas is always at the very top of the wheel. The World of Asuras and the World of Humans are always in the top half of the wheel, bordering the World of Devas on opposite sides, but which of the two is on the left and which is on the right varies (leading to two different arrangements of the wheel). The World of Animals and the World of Hungry Ghosts is always in the bottom half of the wheel, with the World of Animals bordering the World of Humans and the World of Hungry Ghosts bordering the World of Asuras. Between the World of Animals and the World of Hungry Ghosts, at the very bottom of the wheel, is the World of Hell.Sometimes, the wheel is represented as only having five sections because the World of the Devas and the World of the Asuras are combined into a single world.In Buddhist representations of the wheel, within each of the Six Realms, there is always at least one buddha or bodhisattva depicted, trying to help sentient beings find their way to nirvana .


The rim of the hub has a clear binary demarcation of black and white. An exoteric exegesis holds that one side is the White Path or Path of Bliss and represents how sentient beings may move upward to the Godly Realms; the other side is the Dark Path which represents how sentient beings may move downward to the Hellish Realms. A more esoteric exegesis is that it represents the Right-handed Path and the Left-handed Path of Tantra, not in opposition but as complements in unity.

5)The Three Venom (Dhug-Shum in Tibetan and Sanskrit: mula-klesa)

In the hub, the center of the wheel, the Three Poisons (Sanskrit: mula-klesa) are sometimes personified as the boar, serpent and fowl or iconographically by the gankyil; delusion, hatred and greed respectively. The Three Poisons are turning in a 'Wheel of Woe', each consuming and energised by the poison affronting them and being consumed by that which they affront in turn (each of the Poisons has one of the other Poisons in its mouth). Alternatively, they are the 'evils' which are responsible for the trapping of sentient beings within the six realms.

Originally Posted by drakul View Post
Conan the Barbarian is probably the single most authentic movie on serpent worship and the true nature of blood sacrifice in ancient religions up to today.

Conan has never been equaled, all other movies set in ancient times pale next to it. Because Hollywood does not want people to know the truth. Which is why Conan continues to be a great classic. Hollywood has no integrity left as witnessed by the recently released Conan II, which has no history, no story and only relies on bloody violent gore.

The instruction of Vajrayogini is the most profound teaching of Highest Yoga Tantra. In many respects, it is ideally suited to the present day, for example because it reveals how we can transform our attachments into the spiritual path.

Vajrayogini is a female Highest Yoga Tantra Deity who is the embodiment of indivisible bliss and emptiness. She is the same nature as Heruka.

Last edited by lightgiver; 05-05-2012 at 07:58 PM.
lightgiver is offline   Reply With Quote