View Single Post
Old 18-12-2010, 10:43 PM   #159
Senior Member
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Inactive
Posts: 36,483
Likes: 237 (190 Posts)
Default San Juan, Puerto Rico

(Municipality of the Capital City, Saint John the Baptist), is the capital and most populous municipality in Puerto Rico, an unincorporated territory of the United States.

From top left: Aerial view of San Juan, an Old San Juan street, the San Juan Gate and La Fortaleza, Plaza de Colon and the Puerto Rico Capitol

Today, San Juan is one of Puerto Rico's most important seaports, and is the island's manufacturing, financial, cultural, and tourism center.

The city has been the host of numerous important events within the sports community, including the 1979 Pan American Games, 1966 Central American and Caribbean Games, 2006 and 2009 World Baseball Classics, the Caribbean Series and the Special Olympics and MLB San Juan Series in 2010.

Coat of arms san juan

("Coat of Arms given to Puerto Rico by the Catholic Monarchs in the year 1511 being Procurator a neighbor named Pedro Moreno.

Nickname(s): La Ciudad Amurallada (The Walled City), Ciudad Capital (Capital City)

Locator map Puerto Rico San Juan

Location of San Juan in Puerto Rico
Coordinates: 18°27′00″N 66°04′00″W

SJ aerial View 1952.

According to the 2006-2008 American Community Survey, the racial composition of San Juan was as follows:

* White: 63.1% (Non-Hispanic Whites: 3.6%)
* Black or African American: 19.4% (Non-Hispanic Blacks: 3.1%)
* American Indian: 0.4%
* Asian: 1.7%
* Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander: 0.0%
* Some other race: 10.3%
* Two or more races: 5.1%

Torre Universidad de-Puerto Rico Rio Piedras

University of Puerto Rico School of Medicine

School of Medicine | Medical Science Campus - University of Puerto Rico:

University of Puerto Rico

The University of Puerto Rico (UPR) is the state university system of Puerto Rico. The system consists of 11 campuses and has approximately 64,511 students and 5,300 faculty members.[3] UPR has the largest and most diverse academic offerings in Puerto Rico and the Caribbean, with 472 academic programs and 32 doctoral programs.

28 Days Later trailer [WITH NEVER BEFORE SEEN FOOTAGE! See description]

* UPR On the use of animals in biomedical and behavioral research
* Informe Facultad Mayo, 2010
* Protocolo de Manejo de Epidemia de Influenza A H1N1 en RCM

Kill Of The Day #14 - Scanners - Head Explosion

UPRM Portal s.
Portico of the Mayaguez Campus (RUM)

University of Puerto Rico at Mayagüez

Motto Antes, Ahora y Siempre, Colegio!

Motto in English "Before, Now and Forever, Colegio!"

Established September 23, 1911


Tarzán is the official mascot of the University of Puerto Rico at Mayaguez, also known as "Colegio".

Tarzán X

The current mascot; Tarzán X arrived December 2003 from a family of champion dogs raised in the State of Texas.[3] The twin daughters of Díaz Piferrer; Margarita and Milagros have the task of taking care of the canine.[3] According to Diaz Piferrer he even sleeps in their room with air conditioning.[3] The dog was donated by the Alumni Association presided by Dr. Fred Soltero Harrington.[4] Tarzán X was baptized in a mass celebrated by Father Edwin Lugo; the religious act was celebrated on January 3, 2003 in the Student Center Building

Puerto Rico

In 1946 the "Colegio" was one of the most successful Universities in sports in Puerto Rico.[2] By that time Johnny Weissmüller had made the character of Tarzan very popular, his character incarnated masculinity, courage and athleticism and for that reason up until 1946 the university would dress a student up as the loincloth Tarzan to cheer on the Mayagüez student-athletes.[2] In later years a lion and even a puma where considered for school mascots, but those were ruled out because of the laws would not be allowed to be paraded

Coat of arms

Flag of Puerto Rico

Puerto Rico ( /ˌpwɛərtə ˈriːkoʊ/ or /ˌpɔrtə ˈriːkoʊ/), officially the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico (Spanish: "Estado Libre Asociado de Puerto Rico", [esˈtaðo ˈlibɾe asosˈjaðo ðe ˈpweɾto ˈriko] — literally Associated Free State of Puerto Rico), is an unincorporated territory of the United States, located in the northeastern Caribbean Sea, east of the Dominican Republic and west of the Virgin Islands.

The island is also popularly known in Spanish as "La Isla del Encanto" which means "The Island of Enchantment" in English.

Puerto Ricans often call the island Borinquen, from Borikén, its indigenous Taíno name, which means "Land of the Valiant Lord",_Puerto_Rico

Last edited by lightgiver; 19-12-2010 at 02:34 AM.
lightgiver is offline   Reply With Quote