This is to all creatives/musicians out there who have lost hope

Without wanting to sound like a downer (which I will anyway), its goes without saying that getting your art out there to the masses or small following is hard enough to begin with. Now with the Covid psy op and travel restrictions etc its just the final kick in the balls for me.

I'm a musician, drummer and vocalist, have been in bands over the years, went nowhere etc etc. I've struggled with mental illness so gave up on my dream for well over a decade, but was always haunted by what was probably a delusion or pipe dream of making it big, and headlining Bloodstock and Download etc. Haunted by my failings and watching others succeed where I had failed knowing I was at the same level as they were. Sour grapes for sure. 

I was just wondering how you fellow creatives deal with disappointments, feeling like theres no point anymore, what you did to cope when it all seemed like a fucking waste of time and effort and not being fulfilled. I'm in my mid 30s now and just want to gig in a metal band at venues to make up for the shit luck I had in my 20's.

Or those of you who hold onto a positive attitude, what advice you could give? 

• Like 1

Believing in God, praying to God, and believing that this world is essentially "a fairly brutal test of our strength, endurance and determination" helps greatly.

God tells us in all scriptures to turn to him and ask him for help when we feel alone and discarded and ignored by the world/society.

Whenever I feel that my work is going nowhere, or that I am running out of stamina and energy and the strength to continue my work, I pray to God.

It works for me. It keeps me going. After each prayer I feel the strength to get up and fight for one more day.

• Like 1

I'm a performer and dancer, (both on stage and as an instructor) - I also compete in my particular style of dance, both Nationally and Internationally.