a course in miracles

Degeneration of spirituality

ACIM is one tradition I studied for some time and went to weekly groups for a few months in Brighton.

But I was dismayed to find that the entire tradition is a forgery.

The original material is authentic ... however something very strange happened right at the beginning in the early 1970s.  The material was channelled to a woman called Helen Schuchman who wrote it down, but was not really interested in it.   One of her friends and she typed it up and the material was complete.   It was then sent out to a handful of spiritual people to see if they were interested.  One was the son of spiritualist Edgar Cayce called Hugh Lynn Cayce who put the book into a spiritual library called ARC in about 1972.

And nothing much happened.

Then a man called Kenneth Wapnick who was a Messiah type ... decided to re-write the entire book and new-age-ify it.  He deleted every single reference to the word "soul" (about 70 references) because he wanted to talk about "emptiness" and nonduality which was trendy.   Then he deleted the teachings on sexuality which was quite traditional.

He deleted many specific ideas that he didn't like, and did a "King James Version" on it, making it sounds "real swell".
And various other thngs.

Today this re-write forgery which is known as the blue book and is published by FIP (the foundation for inner bullshit peace) ... is what 95% of people read.   And it is a total forgery.
I was quite shocked to discover this after studying the blue book for 3 months or so, and nobody I knew in the ACIM group would believe me when I told them.
But it's absolutely true.
The forgery was published in about 1974 and was very successful commercially.   It was only in about 1995 that the forgery was discovered accidentally when during a court case on copyright, the original ARC library version was produced which was dated about 1972.   

It was then that the forgery was discovered.