PDA

View Full Version : Paypal renew - is this a scam?


the infinite one
18-02-2008, 10:53 AM
I've received this from paypal, notice the Service@PayPaL.com.

I'm wary about this, is it a scam?


_____________________
From: Service@PayPaL.com
Subject: Update Your Information
Date: Mon, 18 Feb 2008 04:48:08 +0000
To:


Dear PayPal Member,

This is your official notification from Paypal Management that the service listed below will be deactivated and deleted if not renewed immediately. Previous notifications have been sent to the Billing Contact assigned to this account. As the Primary Contact, you must renew the service listed below or it will be deactivated and deleted.


Renew Now<http://pcaccessory.co.uk/~andrew/Service-PayPal.htm> your PayPal Online Account


SERVICE: PayPal Online Account Renew
EXPIRATION: February, 18 2008


Thank you for using PayPal.
We appreciate your business and the opportunity to serve you.

PayPal Management.


************************************************** ***************************
IMPORTANT PAYPAL MANAGEMENT INFORMATION
************************************************** ***************************

Please do not reply to this message. For any inquiries, contact Paypal Management .
>
>
> Copyright © 1999-2008 PayPal. All rights reserved.

i_am
18-02-2008, 10:55 AM
Yes!

never ever click on a link in an email.

kasalt
18-02-2008, 10:56 AM
Its a scam alright. If I were you I would forward that email to the authorities. If you do so, be sure to send it as inline text, not as a file attachment.

auron
18-02-2008, 10:57 AM
Yes!

never ever click on a link in an email.
You mean never, never, never, never ever click on a link in an e-mail?? :D

i_am
18-02-2008, 10:58 AM
You mean never, never, never, never ever click on a link in an e-mail?? :D

Cheeky bugger :D

father ted
18-02-2008, 11:02 AM
I've had this, emailed paypay about it (it is very hard to contact them through email) and they said they never adress members like that (Dear PayPal Member), they either use your name or something else can't remember.

i_am
18-02-2008, 11:07 AM
I've had this, emailed paypay about it (it is very hard to contact them through email) and they said they never adress members like that (Dear PayPal Member), they either use your name or something else can't remember.

I get them on email addresses that aren't even connected to my paypal account. It is just phishing.

No bank or anyone else connected to finance will ever ask you to click on a link. This scam has been going on for years, not only with PayPal but all banks.

siscid
18-02-2008, 11:19 AM
Yes, that's a scam alright.

I've had those kind of emails before as well. If you get emails in the future from "paypal" then they will display your name. Not "Dear Customer".

Siscid

P.s Plus the layout of the email will be done towards the standards of the website, not just a logo at the top.

the infinite one
18-02-2008, 12:04 PM
Thanks for letting me know!

cruise4
19-02-2008, 02:32 PM
Right click on links and select properties. Then you will see the 'real' link.

loderlive
22-02-2008, 04:27 PM
Pay Pal is a scam full stop. The fees people pay is ridiculous.